24
Feb
08

Coffee Porter

Coffee Porter, originally uploaded by adelphos24.

For a while now, I’ve been in the habit of occasionally picking up a six pack of individual beer. I always try to get a good mix, rarely picking up more than two of the same kind. Doing this has allowed me to sample a wide variety of beer, without having to go through an entire case of one I don’t necessarily care for.
Imagine my surprise when I realized that this coffee beer I had picked up, admittedly for novelty more than anything else, was not only locally brewed at the mill street brewery in Toronto http://millstreetbrewery.com, but made using coffee from my favorite local coffee house, Balzacs coffee. http://www.balzacscoffee.com/
Two of my favorite things in one bottle.
I’ve been a fan of dark beer for quite a few years now, and I can really appreciate the smoothness of a well made porter. The coffee flavour is admittedly subtle, but rounds the flavour out nicely.
Just a note for anyone unfamiliar with dark beer: don’t chug it!
Dark beer tends to get a bad rep for being too heavy, bitter and strong. All of that is true, to a certain extent, especially if you try to down a bottle in one gulp.
As a general rule, a pint from a tap is the best way to have a dark beer. From a bottle is a convenient way to get it at home. I can’t stand dark beer from a can. Also, just a personal quirk, I only tend to indulge in dark beer in the colder months.
It’s ideal for sitting around, chatting with friends, on an evening when you’d rather not be outside.


0 Responses to “Coffee Porter”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

