04
May
08

Corn Bread

corn bread

This is the result of my first attempt of a basic corn bread recipe I got out of  “Baking at Home With The Culinary Institute of America.” It’s a good book for the rookie home baker as its recipes are fairly basic and easy to follow. I like using it for an almost guaranteed successful first attempt if I haven’t had a lot of experience making something.

Being Canadian, corn bread isn’t exactly in my usual repetoire, but after making these, I may have to reconsider. They turned out perfectly, and I even modified them to make them lactose free.

The only real issue I have with the book is that it’s written using Imperial measurements, which can be frustrating for an experienced baker. Using metric weights guarantees a standard set of results. It can mean the difference between professional quality and a sloppy mess. It’s for this reason that one of my first serious purchases back when I was an apprentice was a good quality digital scale.


1 Response to “Corn Bread”


  1. 1 Ameilia
    August 28, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    The bread looks good. Will you share the recipe?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

