21
Mar
08

The Chocolate Cake Sutra

I said to my soul be still,

and wait without hope

wait without thought…

so the darkness shall be the light,

and the stillness the dancing. 

-T.S. Eliot

I’ve been reading through a book called “The Chocolate Cake Sutra” by Geri Larkin. I’m enjoying it so far, and although it’s not really a food book, it does have a recipe for chocolate cake on the last page, along with the following tips:

You’ll have to wait for the cake to cool to frost it. Good luck. I’ve never been able to wait that long.

This cake is best eaten immediately with three friends…

Any cake eaten in pure awareness – without the distractions of a cell phone, computer, television, or conversation – is a perfect chocolate cake. This includes cakes that have been in your freezer since last February. I know this.

After reading a bit of the book, as well as those tips, I got thinking about how much we miss out on in our modern world, when we don’t take the time to slow down, share life with those around us, and enjoy what we have. 

Most of my favorite food related memories have less to do with the actual food, and more to do with who was with me and where we were. I remember the first meal I cooked for my wife. At the time she didn’t like fish, so she doused her fish in lemon juice until it was inedible. We still get a good laugh about it to this day. Was the fish good? Doesn’t really matter. The memories are great.


0 Responses to “The Chocolate Cake Sutra”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

