25
Feb
08

Top Five Most Useful Pieces of Kitchen Equipment

This is just a list of equipment that I personnally couldn’t do without in a kitchen. I’m sure others will have something to add to this list.

1. A good quality Chef’s Knife.

Proper knife handling technique is crucial in a kitchen, for safety as well as efficiency. A good quality chef’s knife is as important to a cook as a hammer is to a carpenter.

2. A digital scale (the one I have at home does metric and imperial).

Consistency is key when you are doing a recipe you make frequently. A digital scale ensures that you get the quantities right every time. I found that I use the scale more for pastry than cooking, but it makes setting up much faster. Many home recipes are in cups and tablespoons, but I even tend to convert them to metric so I can use my scale. All of my recipes from my professional life are in metric.

3. An imersion blender

Perfect for getting just the right consistency for puree’s and soups, without having to pour a hot liquid into a small blender. No other tool in the kitchen does quite the same job as efficiently, without making a lot more mess (and dishes).

4. A digital thermometer

I learned how to temper chocolate by feel, but there’s no way I’m sticking my finger into a pot of boiling sugar. Temperature is a vital component to getting the results you want, every time.

5. Parchement paper

Probably one of the most under-appreciated tools in a kitchen, it allows you to make a mess with minimal clean-up. Cheap and disposable, it can be cut to whatever size is needed, and rolled into a piping cone for many uses. Tip for the home cook: make sure to use parchement paper, not waxed paper. There is a major difference.


3 Responses to “Top Five Most Useful Pieces of Kitchen Equipment”


  1. February 25, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    “Yes” to everything on that list! Especially the parchment paper! And now I’m pretty dependent on my Slipat (silicone sheet) too for baking just about everything. :)

  2. 2 adelphos24
    February 26, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    I was originally planning on mentioning the silicone sheet, but decided parchement paper ranked a little higher for me in terms of number of possible uses, and availability to the home cook/baker. I find that silicone sheets are still a bit of a specialty cookware item to most people.

  3. February 28, 2008 at 1:46 am

    you can”t make a paper pastry bag with a silpat


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

